SundanceTV's State of the Union Honored With Three Emmy Awards, Including Outstanding Short Form Series

SundanceTV's State of the Union swept the Short Form category with three big wins at the 2019 Creative Arts Emmy Awards Ceremony. Rosamund Pike and Chris O'Dowd won for Best Actress and Best Actor in a Short Form Comedy or Drama Series, respectively, and the critically acclaimed series took home the award for Outstanding Short Form Comedy or Drama Series.

Created by Nick Hornby, State of the Union is a series of 10-minute episodes about contemporary relationships. Each episode is set in a pub immediately before Louise (Pike) and Tom (O'Dowd) have their weekly marital therapy session. As the recently estranged couple ply themselves with drink and prep for their first encounter with their therapist the first clues as to what has caused the fissure in their relationship emerge: an affair. With each successive episode a jigsaw puzzle comes together of how their lives were, what drew them together and what has started to pull them apart. Tom and Louise banter and bicker, spar and spat but as blame and guilt get dealt out and thrown back, an energy re-emerges in their partnership. Unacknowledged and unanalyzed, these stolen moments used to get their story straight for the therapist, may be starting to build bridges back to what made them what they were.

The 71st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will air Sunday, September 22 on FOX. AMC Networks has received a combined total of 27 nominations in a range of categories across AMC, BBC America, SundanceTV, IFC and Acorn TV.

Watch the full first season of State of the Union here on and the AMC App for mobile and devices.

For all the latest AMC news, sign up for the AMC Weekly.