AMC Releases Official Trailer for Upcoming Docu-Series Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America

Today, AMC released the official trailer from AMC’s new documentary series Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America, premiering Sunday, October 13 Late Night on AMC.

Watch the Trailer Now

From Executive Producers Ahmir "Questlove" Thompson, Tariq "Black Thought" Trotter, Alex Gibney and directors Erik Parker and One9, each of the six episodes focuses on a groundbreaking song pivotal to the evolution of American music and culture including Kanye West’s "Jesus Walks", Kendrick Lamar’s "Alright", Run-D.M.C.’s "Rock Box", Queen Latifah’s "Ladies First", and more.

Artists, their collaborators and other influential musical and cultural figures deconstruct compositions, revisit the impact the song had on them personally, and dissect the socio-economic and cultural conditions that inspired the landmark work and gave voice to a generation.

You can watch the Series Premiere early, with no login required, now on and the AMC Apps for mobile and devices. Plus, for a deeper dive into the voices you will hear on the show, check out our official Songs That Shook America YouTube channel.

Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America premieres Sunday, October 13 Late Night. For more of the latest news and exclusives, sign up for the AMC Weekly.