AMC Network Entertainment LLC

This browser is supported only in Windows 10 and above.

Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker) Triumphs at the DGA Awards, Becoming First Female to Take Home Top Prize

more than a few pundits had placed their bets on Avatar. Also in the ring were Lee Daniels (Precious), Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds) and Jason Reitman (Up in the Air). In the end, though, Bigelow’s unassuming direction defeated Cameron’s technical wizardry. (Cameron already won a DGA for Titanic, so don’t feel too sorry for him.)

Another big winner for the evening was Mad Men. Director Lesli Linka Glatter walked away with the prize in the Dramatic Series category for her work on the episode, “Guy Walks Into An Advertising Agency.” For a complete list of winners, go here. go to the Directors Guild website.

Feature Film: Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)

Documentary: Louie Psihoyos (The Cove)

Dramatic Series (Night): Lesli Linka Glatter (Mad Men, “Guy Walks Into An Advertising Agency”

Comedy Series: Jason Winer (Modern Family, “Pilot”)

Movie for Television/Mini-Series: Ross Katz (Taking Chance)

Musical or Variety Program: Don Mischer (We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial)

Reality Program: Craig Borders (Build It Bigger, “Hong Kong Bridge”)

Daytime Serials: Christopher Goutman (As the World Turns, “Once Upon A Time”)

Children’s Program: Allison Liddi-Brown (Princess Protection Program)

Commercial: Tom Kuntz (Eyebrows, Cadbury; Tailor, Skittles; Scents for Gents, Old Spice; Tips, Career Builder)

Read More