AMC Network Entertainment LLC

This browser is supported only in Windows 10 and above.

2008 Independent Spirit Awards Winners


Here are the winners of the 2008 Spirit Awards. A complete list of the nominees, as well as interviews with nominees, can be viewed here.

Best Feature: Juno , Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Mason Novick, Russell Smith (producers)

Best First Feature: The Lookout , Scott Frank (director); Roger Birnbaum, Gary Barber, Laurence Mark, Walter F. Parkes (producers)

Best Director: Julian Schnabel, The Diving Bell and The Butterfly

John Cassavetes Award: August Evening, Chris Eska (writer/director); Connie Hill (I) (producer); Jason Wehling (producer)

Best Female: Ellen Page, Juno

Best Male: Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Savages

Best Supporting Female: Cate Blanchett, I’m Not There

Best Supporting Male: Chiwetel Ejiofor, Talk to Me

Best Screenplay: Tamara Jenkins, The Savages

Best First Screenplay: Diablo Cody, Juno

Best Cinematography: Janusz Kaminski, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Best Documentary: Crazy Love, dir: Dan Klores

Best Foreign Film: Once , dir: John Carney

Robert Altman Award: I’m Not There , Todd Haynes (director);
Laura Rosenthal (casting director); Cate Blanchett; Christian Bale;
Richard Gere; Heath Ledger; Ben Whishaw; Marcus Carl Franklin;
Charlotte Gainsbourg; Bruce Greenwood

Truer Than Fiction Award: The Unforeseen, Laura Dunn

Producers Award: Neil Kopp, Paranoid Park , Old Joy

Someone to Watch Award: Ramin Bahrani, Chop Shop

Read More