AMC Network Entertainment LLC

This browser is supported only in Windows 10 and above.

Mad Men Wins Big at WGA Awards, Picking Up Two Top Prizes for Dramatic Writing

At last night’s Writers Guild Awards, Mad Men earned two wins in the top television categories. For the third year in a row, the WGA named Mad Men the Best TV Drama Series, honoring writers Jonathan Abrahams, Lisa Albert, Keith Huff, Jonathan Igla, André Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Janet Leahy, Erin Levy, Tracy McMillan, Dahvi Waller, and Matthew Weiner. The competing nominees were Boardwalk Empire, Breaking Bad, Dexter, and Friday Night Lights.

The WGA also singled out “The Chrysanthemum and the Sword,” written by Erin Levy, as the Best Episodic Drama, beating out episodes from The Good Wife, House M.D., and Breaking Bad.

Below is a partial list of the Writers Guild winners for 2011. For a full list, visit the WGA Web site.

Best Original Screenplay: Inception

Best Adapted Screenplay: The Social Network

Best Documentary Screenplay: Inside Job

Best TV Drama Series: Mad Men

Best TV Comedy Series: Modern Family

Best New Series: Boardwalk Empire

Best Episodic Drama: “The Chrysanthemum and the Sword,” Mad Men

Best Episodic Comedy: “When It Rains, It Pours,” 30 Rock

Read More