AMC Network Entertainment LLC

This browser is supported only in Windows 10 and above.

Breaking Bad Wins Big at WGA Awards, Picking Up Two Top Prizes for Dramatic Writing

On Sun., Feb. 19, the Writer’s Guild of America honored Breaking Bad with two WGA Awards at their annual awards gala. The show walked away with wins for Best Dramatic Series and Best Episodic Drama.

Breaking Bad writers Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, and Moira Walley-Beckett were honored with the Best Dramatic Series award. The competing nominees in the category were HBO’s Boardwalk Empire, HBO’s Game of Thrones, CBS’s The Good Wife, and Showtime’s Homeland. Vince Gilligan accepted the prestigious honor, saying “We wouldn’t have a show without Bryan Cranston.”

Gilligan was also honored with the Best Episodic Drama award for his work on Season 4, Episode 1, “Box Cutter,” finishing in a tie with Showtime’s Homeland. Other nominees in the category included HBO’s Boardwalk Empire and Showtime’s Dexter.

For a full list of 2012 WGA Award winners, visit the Writers Guild of America website.


Read More